Events | Sports | The Heineken Cup

The Heineken Cup

See Europe’s top rugby teams

The Heineken Cup is one of two annual Rugby Union competitions organised by European Rugby Cup involving 24 leading club, regional and provincial teams from six countries in Europe: England, France, Ireland, Italy, Scotland and Wales.

One of the most prestigious trophies in Rugby Union, The Heineken Cup was launched in 1995 to promote competition between the biggest rugby nations in Europe. It kicks off on 8 October and runs until 22 May when the two best teams will fight it out for the cup at the Millennium Stadium in Wales.

First played in the summer of 1995 the final, played in front of a crowd of 21,800 at Cardiff Arms Park on 6 January, 1996, was a nail biter with Toulouse requiring extra time before beating Cardiff 21-18 to become the first champions of Europe. And they’re still the team to beat having won the Heineken Cup a total of four times including last year’s trophy.

Don’t miss top London team Saracens who will play Leinster on Saturday 16 October at London’s incredible new Wembley Stadium. It promises to be a great match backed by superb entertainment before the game. Previous Saracens matches at Wembley have seen high-wire acts, circus performers and hit West End shows so you’re in for a great spectacle and, of course, some first-rate rugby.




View all products
Visitor Oyster Card London

A pay-as-you-go smartcard for use on all public transport in London - a visitor essential!

Visitor Oyster Card London
From £18
London Travelcard

A daily or weekly paper ticket for unlimited travel on all of London's public transport

London Travelcard
From £9.60