BTA (VisitBritain/VisitEngland) Board and VisitEngland Advisory Board Chairs announced

Friday 20 January 2017

The Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport, The Rt Hon Karen Bradley MP, has appointed the new Chairs for the BTA (VisitBritain/VisitEngland) Board and the VisitEngland Advisory Board - Steve Ridgway CBE will succeed Christopher Rodrigues CBE as BTA Chairman and Denis Wormwell will succeed Penelope, Viscountess Cobham CBE as Chairman of the VisitEngland Advisory Board.

In his role as Chairman, Steve Ridgway will lead the overall direction for VisitBritain/VisitEngland as laid out by our sponsoring department, the Department for Culture, Media and Sport - marketing Britain overseas to drive growth in international leisure and business tourism and delivering the England Action Plan. As Chairman of the VisitEngland Advisory Board, Denis Wormwell will lead on advising the BTA Board on the development and implementation of that Action Plan.

Steve Ridgway has served on the BTA Board as an independent board member since 2013 and brings with him a wealth of tourism experience not only from global brands but also from running his own tourism business. He worked for global brand Virgin Atlantic for more than 23 years in a variety of roles, most recently as CEO. He has hands on experience of running a tourism SME - owning the St Moritz Hotel in Cornwall with his brother. His other tourism interests include his chairmanship of Scandlines, a large Baltic Ferry operator between Germany and Denmark.

Denis Wormwell has spent the last 30 years in travel, hospitality and transport. Most recently he was CEO of Shearings Leisure Group, a position he held for almost 10 years. His other executive roles include CEO of National Express Group and Director of Thomas Cook Tour Operations. He was part of the management team that bought Club 18-30 and then Sunset Holidays and he set up a new airline called Flying Colours. In addition, he has held board positions with the Confederation of Passenger Transport, ABTA Tour Operators Council and the Federation of Tours Operators.

The incoming chairs will commence their roles on 1 April 2017 for a term of three years.

For more information contact:

VisitBritain Media Team

Assets to download

Download images in this article

Visit website

Download DOC version of this article