Football supporters at a Newcastle United F.C. match,

Newcastle United F.C.

In 1881, Stanley Cricket Club formed a football team to keep them occupied through the winter, and in 1892 they moved to the clubs current home: St James’s Park. Newcastle United Football Club was then founded by the merger of Newcastle East End and Newcastle West End. 

Based in Newcastle upon Tyne the club competes in the Premier League, the highest tier of English football for which it has been a member for all but three years of the competition’s history. 

The club’s honours include 4 League Championship titles, 6 FA Cups and a Charity Shield, and have been part of a fierce local rivalry with Sunderland A.F.C. with whom they have engaged in the Tyne-Wear derby since 1898. 


Newcastle United FC