Premier League

Premier League - самая знаменитая в мире футбольная лига. Матчи ее команд смотрят 4,8 миллиарда людей во всем мире. Приглашаем вас посмотреть на то, как самые прославленные футбольные команды сражаются за чемпионский титул на родине футбола.


In 1886, workers at the Woolwich Arsenal Armament factory started a team called Dial Square. It turned professional in 1891 and became known as Arsenal in 1913. Its honours include 3 Barclays Premier League titles and 12 FA Cup wins.

Leicester City Football Club

Also known as ‘the Foxes’, Leicester City Football Club was formed in 1884. They play at the King Power Stadium, commonly known as Filbert Way, in Leicester in the East Midlands.

Manchester City

Formed in 1880 by St Mark’s Church, Manchester City took its current name in 1894. It won the 2014 Barclays Premier League, and also boasts 5 FA cup wins. Its home ground is the City of Manchester Stadium.

Tottenham Hotspur

Boys from Tottenham Hotspur Cricket Club formed Hotspur FC in 1882. In 1901 it became the only non-league club to win the FA Cup since the formation of the football league.

Manchester United

Formed as Newton Heath LYR in 1878, the club became Manchester United in 1902 and moved to Old Trafford in 1910. One of the most successful clubs in the history of English football, it boasts a record 20 English League titles. 

West Ham United

Originally named the Thames Ironworks & Shipbuilding football team (hence its nickname, ‘the Hammers’) the club reformed as West Ham United in 1900. In 1904 it relocated to its current Boleyn Ground stadium, and to date its honours include 3 FA Cup wins.

Liverpool Football Club

Liverpool Football Club was formed in 1892 and has to date won more European trophies than any other English team, in addition to 7 FA Cup wins and numerous other honours.

Southampton FC

Southampton FC has been known as ‘the Saints’ since its formation in 1885 due to its history as a church football team. Its honours include 1 FA Cup win.

Stoke City

Stoke became a professional team in 1885 – and it's been wearing its distinctive red and white striped kit continuously for over 100 years.

Watford Football Club

Watford Football Club was founded in 1881. The long established Hertfordshire team has a number of nicknames including ‘the Hornets’, ‘the Golden Boys’ and ‘the ‘Orns’. They were once owned by legendary British music star Sir Elton John, who oversaw several successful seasons under manager Graham Taylor. Both men are now Honorary Life Presidents of the club.

Crystal Palace FC

Founded in 1905, Crystal Palace FC was originally nicknamed ‘the Glaziers’, after the mass of glass panes used in Crystal Palace itself. It was promoted to the Barclays Premier League during the 2012-13 Football League season.


Originally called St Domingo FC – for the people of St Domingo’s Church parish – the club was renamed Everton when people from outside the parish wanted to play too. The club’s honours include 5 FA Cup wins.

Chelsea FC

Nicknamed ‘the Blues’ for the colour of its strip. Chelsea FC was formed in 1905 and has won a long list of honours including 4 Barclays Premier League titles and 7 FA Cups. Its home ground is Stamford Bridge.

West Bromwich Albion

The club was formed in 1878 by workers in West Bromwich, and took the name West Bromwich Albion in 1880. Its honours include 5 FA Cup wins, and its home ground is The Hawthorns. 

Swansea City AFC

Formed in 1912, Swansea City AFC became the first Welsh club to be promoted to the Premier League in 2010-11. Since 2005, Liberty Stadium has been the club’s home turf. 

AFC Bournemouth

AFC Bournemouth, or ‘the Cherries’ due to the bright red kit they wear when they play at home, was founded in 1890. In 2015, the Dorset team entered the top flight for the first time in their history. 

Norwich City FC

Norwich City FC, or ‘the Canaries’ -- so called due to the bright yellow bird on their badge -- returned to the big league in 2015. The club has what is considered the oldest football song in the world, ‘On The Ball, City’.

Newcastle United

In 1881, Stanley Cricket Club formed a football team to keep them occupied through the winter. In 1892 it moved to its current home, St James’s Park, and shortly afterwards changed its name to Newcastle United. Among the club’s honours are 6 FA Cup wins.

Sunderland AFC

Sunderland was founded by school teacher James Allen in 1879. It was first called the Sunderland and District Teachers Association Football Club, but became Sunderland AFC a year later.

Aston Villa Football Club

Aston Villa Football Club was formed in 1874 by a group of cricketers looking for a winter sport. In 1888 it was also one of the founding members of the football league. To date, the club’s honours include 7 FA Cup wins.