Story Ideas

Presenting VisitBritain's look at the biggest topics and trends across Britain right now! You can also discover new hotel openings and refurbishments in the Accommodation Update, and the latest restaurant launches in the Taste Update – all designed to whet the media’s appetite!

Six of the best free things to do in Edinburgh this winter

Tuesday 09 October 2018

Planning to visit the Scottish capital for Hogmanay celebrations on 31 December? Why not come...

9 reasons to visit Scotland’s islands in autumn and winter

Thursday 27 September 2018

With more than 790 offshore islands (around 95 are inhabited), Scotland offers ample opportunity...

Road trip – England’s North West

Tuesday 18 September 2018

As the autumn months roll round, thoughts turn to brisk walks in a countryside ablaze with...

48 Hours in…Chester and Cheshire

Thursday 06 September 2018

With an enchanting mix of historic market towns, quaint village squares and picturesque...

48 hours in… Bath

Tuesday 28 August 2018

A whimsical mix of cobblestone streets, historical sites and romantic architectural styles, Bath...

48 hours in … Cardiff

Tuesday 14 August 2018

Europe’s youngest capital city, Cardiff...

Day trips from London – must-do experiences in Hastings, Battle & Rye

Thursday 26 July 2018

Jump on a train heading south-east from London and in under 1.5 hours you’re in what is known as...

Six of the best English country gardens

Thursday 19 July 2018

An English country garden is a sight to behold and there are plenty within an hour’s journey of...

48 Hours in… Leeds

Tuesday 17 July 2018

One of the only cities outside London to have its own ballet and opera companies, Yorkshire city...

60 minutes from… Cardiff

Friday 06 July 2018

Wales’ vibrant capital city Cardiff is hosting one of the country’s biggest festivals between 3-...