Newcastle United Football Club

In 1881, Stanley Cricket Club formed a football team to keep them occupied through the winter, and in 1892 they moved to the club’s current home: St James’s Park. Newcastle United Football Club was then founded by the merger of Newcastle East End and Newcastle West End. 

Based in Newcastle upon Tyne, the club has been a member of the Premier League for all but three years of the competition’s history. 

The club’s honours include four league titles and six FA Cups. Newcastle United have a fierce local rivalry with Sunderland AFC with whom they have played in the Tyne-Wear derby since 1898.